vermiculite usage

Michael Ortiz

Arachnopeon
Hello all, its been a while since I have posted so for starters I hope all are doing well.
the reason for this post is to ask about vermiculite. Im rehousing my A. seemani adult.
I am considering using vermiculite to help maintain some of the moisture in her substrate. My question is how much do I use? im thinking about mixing it with plantation soil from exo terra and a all natural top soil. Any advice will help. thank you in advance

Garetyl

Arachnoknight
I wouldn't use much of it, personally. I have no problem maintaining moisture in enclosures without it. I use it for my crested gecko eggs and that's really it. I especially can't see it being good for burrowing species.

Thekla

Arachnoprince
Most of the time I use a bit vermiculite with my more moisture dependent species, but no more than 5-10%. Haven't had any problems so far.

AphonopelmaTX

Staff member
I have some experience with vermiculite since that and peat moss were the substrates of choice like 20 years ago. Coco fiber beats vermiculite in water retention by a long shot. Mixed in a 1:1 ratio with plain old top soil you have a soil mix that holds moisture and holds its shape for burrowing. Coco fiber, topsoil, or a 50/50 mix is all I use these days. Sometimes I will use more coco fiber than top soil in a mix for added water retention.