1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Urodacus yaschenkoi babies

Discussion in 'Scorpions' started by Dave Jay, Feb 24, 2018.

1. Dave Jay

Dave Jay Arachnoknight Active Member

Advertisement
    I took pictures of a couple of my 2nd instar Uradacus yaschenkoi. I collected them myself from the Murray Mallee region in South Australia. I have been keeping four in a 14" tank for the last 8 months without incident. They get together regularly for little meetings and often 2 share a burrow. They're always swapping burrows and roaming around. Most of the Mallee is compacted coarse red sand , and I found many yasch holes in those areas , but these were found in fine white loose sand so that's what I keep them on, but my other yasch are kept on coarse red sand. little yasch - Copy.JPG little yasch 2 - Copy.JPG

• Like Like x 4
    • Love Love x 1
  2. The wolf

The wolf Arachnobaron

U.K.
    I love the little waving chelicerae

• Like Like x 1
  3. Stenodactylus

Stenodactylus Arachnosquire

This is fantastic. Probably the only time us non-Aussie keepers will get to see Urodacus. Beautiful animals.

• Agree Agree x 2
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Dave Jay

Here's the underside of one of the babies
    yasch2.JPG

• Like Like x 1
  5. Dave Jay

yasch1.JPG And an Adult who needs a bath!

• Like Like x 3
    • Funny Funny x 1
  6. The wolf

The wolf Arachnobaron

U.K.
    I love the aesthetics of these guys

• Like Like x 1
  7. Scorpionluva

Scorpionluva Arachnoangel Arachnosupporter

PA
    Thanks for sharing ! I love the red coloration at the tips of their chela

• Like Like x 1
  8. Dave Jay

Yes, it's very noticeable in the second instars but it darkens each moult.

9. Dennis Nedry

Dennis Nedry Arachnobaron Active Member

How deep is the sub you use for these guys? Thinking of getting one or two

10. Dave Jay