Unexpected (possible) eggsac location

Theneil

Arachnoprince
i will start by saying i am still quite new to breeding. I have had several pairings and one dud sac, but at this point in time, have not yet had a success.

I currently have a VERY gravid A. avicularia that i believe is due to drop a sac at any moment, but she seems to be preparing a spot on the enclosure floor rather than her usual hangout near the top. I was curious if this is a common occurence or if mine is just being silly.

On a seemingly unrelated note: the area i believe it is prepping for an egg sac is actually the same place that it molted last, but i was not suprised it molted on the floor since i had just recieved it and it hadn't really webbed up its top corner with the cork bark yet.

Theneil

Arachnoprince
Well it looks like it was probably all for nothing. it seems she couldn't get her web to stick on the sides so i am guessing that she won't be able to roll this into a proper sac.

Major bummer as the father was my first T and has since passed. Was really hoping to maintain his lineage for sentimental purposes. :(
20181024_183717.jpg

spacelord

Arachnosquire
Well it looks like it was probably all for nothing. it seems she couldn't get her web to stick on the sides so i am guessing that she won't be able to roll this into a proper sac.

Major bummer as the father was my first T and has since passed. Was really hoping to maintain his lineage for sentimental purposes. :(
View attachment 290346
How come she couldnt get it to stick to the side? Would she not try again?

Theneil

Arachnoprince
i think the webbing was just coming unstuck from the plastic. Perhapse i didn't clean the inside well enough when i first set it up and there could have been some residual mold release agent on it. i don't know for sure. I think Avics might be able to double clutch but i'm not sure how often it actually happens so i am guessing that it's all over for the males genetics. I'd love to be wrong though.