trouble feeding baby ball python

BryanL

Arachnopeon
Hi everybody,

I am pretty new to keeping snakes and have only had one ball python for about 6 or 7 months. but recently I decided on visiting a petsmart in my area to see if there were any babies that I could help 'rescue' and raise in a better environment.
I'm having a bit of a problem with regards to feeding though, I have tried feeding him a frozen thawed fuzzy mouse after about 8 or 9 days that I got him rehoused and he wouldn't take it even though being very skinny whenever I got him, so I tried to wait another 5 days after to give him some more time to settle in, tried about the exact same size frozen thawed mouse and he still wouldn't take it. Time goes by about 3 days later I try again and still no budge.
It seems as though he's scared of the mouse and I have tried holding it still, jerking it around slightly, touching the back of him to see if it would cause a reaction and nothing would happen. I would attempt to feed him for about 5 to 10 mins at a time but would try to stop sooner as to not stress him out even more and I have left it in there before to see if he would take it but never did when I checked about an hour later. He has 2 hides on opposite sides, a pretty big waterdish, I added 2 plants in there for hiding spots and decoration, I cover the front and sides during the day to lessen the stress of me walking back and forth from my room, temps are about 82-87 for ambiency in the tank and about 92 degrees (sometimes 95 when I turn the heat lamp on) on his hot side and the cool side is around the ambient temperature as well. I always keep the humidity up at about 54%-62% for both snakes but this little guy just seems to not feel comfortable when being offered food. Any tips and advice I could try for the next time I try feeding?

Thanks,

- Bryan