[Inquiry] Too Good To Be True?

Ker

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
:? I am relatively new to the T World compared to most of the people that frequent these board sites, so I would like to defer to the experienced on a matter that has recently been brought to light. Some of the species that I am looking for are quite uncommon and or quite expensive in the States, so in order to find some of the rarer species, I have placed ads on International message boards as well as Domestic ones.
niba roland ngwa,
bamenda-cameroon. this is one of the people who has replied to me and he seems to be most eager to have someone who is willing to buy in bulk. He claims to have all of the juveniles that I am looking for and at prices that are so good I would buy a ton of them at a time. I realize that in other countries, some of these spiders that I am looking for are not considered uncommon at all, but the list that he sent back with the prices raised some alarm bells. I know that if I send someone several hundred dollars, I want to make sure I get what Im buying!!
So, if anyone has dealt with this person, or can offer some insite, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks a bunch everyone!!

sansoucie

Arachnolord
Old Timer
I did this with Goliath Beetles a while back. Research the person. There are tons of places with international reviews for beetles and other inverts, I am sure there are reviews about int T dealers. **Ask him for references, too.** When I ask and they refuse to give any references or deflect the request, I pass them by. You CAN get excellent deals for the reasons you mentioned above and sometimes you can get into a really good relationship with your own private "catcher/seller" but be wary. It's nearly impossible to get money back on a bad international deal. The person should be pretty knowledgeable about int. shipping and guarantees. If they aren't, they have no intention of shipping anything to you.

reverendsterlin

Arachnoprince
Old Timer