Three Shades of Salmon

WhiteMoss

Arachnosquire
So back in June of 2022 I acquired 2 LPs' and 1 probably a month or so earlier. The first one was a surprise freebie with an order. All three from the same reputable vendor. I'll be referring to them in the order I acquired them, Lp1= first one I got, Lp3= last one

I know all spiders develope at their own rate and some may take an extra molt or two to acquire their adult colors. That being said I would assume, but could be wrong, that all three are from the same sac considering the amount of slings you can get from an eggsac.

They all molt within a 3 month period of eachother and it's typically in the order of 1, 3, 2. As of right now they are all sitting around 3 - 3.5" dls and all are sporting different variations of color. Lp1 is so salmon it almost looks like it could be a different sp. Now that very well could be the case... I'm no expert in identifying species and I have not owned any other Lasiodora sp. Also these are my first Lps'. It doesn't matter much to me either way. I love them all and I know time will tell. I just think it's neat how 3 tarantulas that are (presumably) from the same sac can look so different. It's also worth noting, the one that is always first to molt shows almost no adult colors.

*This isn't a thread for ID

Lp1
20231104_144744.jpg

Lp2
20240113_102255.jpg

Lp3
20240113_101959.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

spideyspinneret78

Arachnoprince
To me this looks like individual variation. Of course nobody can say for 100% certain unless they are a taxonomist who has a chance to closely examine the specimen and/ or its molt.

Wolfram1

Arachnoprince
Arachnosupporter
i have bred them and i have noticed something similar with the 6 i still have

WhiteMoss

Arachnosquire
i have bred them and i have noticed something similar with the 6 i still have
I wonder if the speed at which they develope their adult colors has something to do with the strength of the specimen itself?