The Tarantula Keeping Pyramid

Tenevanica

Arachnodemon
I've been keeping invertebrates for a while now, but I haven't kept many T's. If you check my profile, I only keep two species at the time of writing. (Soon to be more... Rocky Mountain Reptile Expo, here I come!) You could say I am still a "beginner" tarantula hobbyist, though I am not a beginner in terms of my tarantula knowledge. I've decided to make what I am calling a "Tarantula Keeping Pyramid," which essentially breaks up Tarantula keeping into separate "tiers" so people of all experiences can see which new tarantula is right for them, and what their "next step" would be.

Each tier has several listed genera. Once you have gained experience by successfully keeping a few of the genera listed at your current tier, you are considered ready to move up and keep the T's at the next tier. Please note that not every genus will be listed here, and T's that are at the same level of difficulty as the listed genera can be considered "in that tier."

Tier 1: Brachypelma, Grammostola, Aphonopelma, Chromatopelma, Euthalus.
Tier 2: Avicularia, Psalmopoeus, Acanthoscurria, Hapalopus, Nhandu.
Tier 3: Chilobrachys, Pterinochilus, Ephebopus, Ceratogyrus.
Tier 4: Heteroscodra, Theraphosa, Poecilotheria.

This pyramid is nowhere near perfect, so if anyone has any suggestions as to how I should rearrange this, or has any suggestions in terms of a relatively well known genus that should be added to the listed thread, please tell me. This is mainly for my personal use, so I'm sure most people will disagree with me here.
Please add your experiences and personal ratings to this thread so we can improve the pyramid.

Last edited:

EulersK

Arachnonomicon
Staff member
As you said, many people will disagree, so I'm sure you don't mind input ;)