The meaning behind scientific names

MissHarlen

Arachnosquire
As a former Latin student I am fascinated by the scientific naming scheme used for all life forms. Since I've gotten into the hobby I've noticed a lot of similarities between certain genera and specie. For example:

Aphonopelma, Brachypelma, Chromatopelma, and Haplopelma have the "-pelma" suffix. What does it mean? There's also Cyriopagopus and Cyriocosmus.

And then for different specie you have things like Grammostola pulchripes and Harpactira pulchripes. Brachypelma smithi and Poecilotheria smithi. Hysterocrates gigas and Tapinauchenius gigas.

I am very curious about the meaning behind scientific names for Tarantulas. Does anyone have any information about it?

sdsnybny

Arachnogeek
Some of the species are named after the arachnologist/enthusiast who discovered them and or did the taxonomy. I'm not certain on the Genus name origins.
IE; Brachypelma smithi was named to honor Dr Smith, Pterinopelma sazimai named after Dr Sazima. Others are named after geographical locations that may be spelled via the local language. Pamphobeteus sp "Machala" after the local. the last letter added to the species indicates if the genus is neutral, masculine, or feminine. I'm just learning this so if I missed something others may correct/add to it.

boina

Lady of the mites
As a former Latin student I am fascinated by the scientific naming scheme used for all life forms. Since I've gotten into the hobby I've noticed a lot of similarities between certain genera and specie. For example:

Aphonopelma, Brachypelma, Chromatopelma, and Haplopelma have the "-pelma" suffix. What does it mean? There's also Cyriopagopus and Cyriocosmus.

And then for different specie you have things like Grammostola pulchripes and Harpactira pulchripes. Brachypelma smithi and Poecilotheria smithi. Hysterocrates gigas and Tapinauchenius gigas.