Stick Insect, a mystery.

Johnny Q

Arachnopeon
So I found this stick insect a few days ago In Bucks County Pennsylvania. I knew immediately that it didn't belong anywhere near here. (no records of any Phasmid species living in Bucks county) I was also 90% sure it was not a Diapheromera femorata (only native species here in Pennsylvania) as I have been keeping and breeding that species for several years. It seems to be very characteristic of Diapheromera Persimilis. However D. persimilis's range extends from Nebraska to Texas, putting it over 1000 miles outside of its known range.

If anyone could confirm this identification I would greatly appreciate it.
Also if it is D. Persimilis I would love to here some theories as to how it got here.

Attachments

Salmonsaladsandwich

Arachnolord
Manomera blatchleyi, probably the only other native phasmid in PA. Nice find!

Supposedly they’re easier to rear than Diapheromera, and that appears to be a female. If you still have it be sure to keep it.

Records are never a reliable indication of the native range of invertebrate species. If it can be found at the same latitude in the same general area of the landmass there’s no reason why something couldn’t turn up somewhere it hasn’t been recorded.

I’m not sure how the idea got in people’s heads that D. femorata is the only stick insect species in the northeastern US. Some even seem to think it’s the only species in all of North America and therefore the only legal phasmid to keep in any part of the US!

Last edited:

Johnny Q

Arachnopeon
@Salmonsaladsandwich I think your right about it being Monomera blatchleyi, it makes way more sense. Is there any visible characteristic that differentiates M. blatchleyi and D. perisimilis?

I can't imagine anything being easier to rear then Diapheromera.

Salmonsaladsandwich

Arachnolord