1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Stick Bug Eggs importing to US

Discussion in 'Insects, Other Invertebrates & Arthropods' started by Ajohnson5263, Jan 9, 2018.

1. Ajohnson5263

Ajohnson5263 Arachnosquire

USA
    Advertisement
    Hey, I've been looking into getting a oddball pet for my college apartment next year. I've been keeping fish and amphibians for 8 years now, and wanted to give some bugs a go. i was hoping to get something herbivorous and on the larger side, (since my college is to far to get feeder insects and i cant breed my own) but soon shortly learned about the ban on importing 'plant pests'. HOWEVER, i've seen on eBay that people are selling stick bug eggs (and shipping to US) by labeling them as fish food. Is this a viable way to get stick bugs into the US, and has anyone tried this before?

2. Ajohnson5263

USA
    Additionally, if anyone has a recommendation for a larger invertebrate that doesn't require live food, im open to suggestions

3. Aquarimax

Aquarimax Arachnodemon Active Member

Utah
    My two cents: Consider a large species of millipede, or even a small group of them. There are several species that get impressively large, but as detritivores, they do not require live insects as food. They do require a rather specific substrate as their main source of nutrition, but other than that, they munch on soft fruits and veggies.

There are also captive-bred populations in the US, so you don’t have to worry about importing them into the country.

• Agree Agree x 2
  4. You wouldn't need to import them, there's plenty of people within the US who breed exotic phasmids. It's still legally dubious though.