Sp. Red Care

laylangel

Arachnopeon
Hi everyone, I’m new to keeping tarantulas and after a lot of research, I decided on a dwarf Chilean flame for their relative hardiness and docile nature. I don’t trust online care advice so I thought I’d come here. What is a basic cage setup including substrate and a hide? Pictures are welcome. Also, I have the opportunity to buy a 1/3” baby. Are they harder to care for than adults and should their enclosure be small to start with? Thanks!

PanzoN88

Arachnodemon
- Coco fiber substrate

- for slings that are really small, a few drops of water to the substrate will suffice.

- I keep my small E. Sp. Yellow slings in pill vials.

When larger, they only require deep, dry substrate with a water dish. I overflow the water dishes periodically for my mature pair.

- Slings are not hard to feed. Cricket parts or cut up mealworms are perfect for small slings.

- I find that larger specimens prefer superworms over any other feeder.

Zaire

Arachnolurker
Slings are a bit more delicate than adults. Consensus on here seems to be that beginners are better off with a juvenile of 2" or larger.

That said, I have been looking for a juvenile E sp. Red for months and haven't found them. The same site that has the slings sells dram vials. These are slow growers so would be able to stay in the vials for quite some time. Ventilate well with a hot needle.

spookyvibes

Arachnobaron
What is a basic cage setup including substrate and a hide?
Substrate, hide, water dish. Make sure the enclosure has no more than 1.5x the diagonal leg span of the tarantula. I will say though, for slings 1.5" and under, I usually don't provide either of those. Instead I use a 2oz condiment cup that gets adapted as its burrow and dampen part of the sub.

Are they harder to care for than adults and should their enclosure be small to start with?