Sorry for the leech spam, but can you feed Medicinal Leeches dead pinky mice?

Godzillaalienfan1979

Arachnoknight
Since H. Medicinalis feeds exclusively on mammals, could I theoretically open up a small wound on a DEAD pinky mice (thawed) and the Leeches would feed off of it? Feeding them with my own blood gives me the willies.

The Snark

Dumpster Fire of the Gods
Old Timer
You mean, does H Medicinalis eat meat. I'll bite. Does it? It won't be getting blood unless you explain to the leech to feed from the bottom up.

schmiggle

Arachnoking
Not unless you heat it up to body temperature first. But I think they would be smart enough to go for an open wound.

beetleman

Arachnoking
Old Timer
when i had my medicinals in the past i tried that,they did not even budge on the frozen/thawed pinkies,they will definitly feed on live frogs though,mine did,didn't like doing it,but they had to feed,and i wasn't on the menu.

spookyvibes

Arachnobaron
I can't be for sure since I have no experience with leeches whatsoever, but I think you can get away with using raw liver from the grocery store. Only reason I know that is because awhile back I was curious what leeches eat in captivity, so I googled it. Again, I have no experience with leeches, I'm just going off what google said. Leeches seem like a very interesting pet to have, how big are the leeches you're getting?

MTA

Arachnosquire