So the hobby is addictive?

How long did you wait before getting your second T?

• I bought more than one tarantula to begin with.

Votes: 30 24.8%
  • Less than a week.

Votes: 9 7.4%
  • Less than a month.

Votes: 41 33.9%
  • Less than 3 months.

Votes: 16 13.2%
  • Less than 6 months.

Votes: 7 5.8%
  • Less than a year.

Votes: 3 2.5%
  • More than a year.

Votes: 15 12.4%

• Total voters

Razzledazzy

Arachnosquire
So I'm new to the hobby and just curious how much the 'you can't just have one' thing seems to hold true. Right now I've only got one.... and yet I snagged a second tank claiming it would be a good 'backup' container in case anything happened to my main cage.

Yet I can't stop thinking about how well another T would do in it... I've already got the substrate....

I've only had my first T for two days.

Lokee85

Arachnoknight
My husband and I got our first two Ts at the same time, a B. vagans and B. albo. We had our third and fourth two weeks later. Within two months, we were at 25. We now have 23 Ts (had one death and gave one to a friend), 1 Wolf spider, and 1 brown recluse that was found in my bedroom that I've been caring for temporarily until temps warm up enough to set it free away from my apartment building. I haven't acquired any new Ts in over a year, and it's getting harder to refrain, but finances do not currently permit new acquisitions. :arghh:

cold blood

Staff member
I'm the exception to the rule, but that is because I got my first as a rescue, not anything I planned, and I was seriously arachnophobic at the time...I just couldn't see something get killed for amusement. So I had my first for a decade before deciding more was what I ultimately wanted. It was a rose hair, so it took a long time to actually learn the things I needed to learn.

But here's the reason many get lots at a higher rate.

1. Ts are inherently inactive most of the time. So if you want to observe activity, you need many as most won't be at any given time.