Slings, missing presumed dead?

Brother Giles

Arachnopeon
Hi, I have a bit of an embarrassing question. Been keeping T's for a few years and sometimes I run into an issue I can't explain. Sometimes a spiderling will disappear out of it's vial, usually the signs of no shed, not eating, no change in the environment so I go in and check on them. In these cases I've pulled the substrate apart, looked over everything with a microscope and... nothing. No corpse, no bits nothing. They can't get out of the vial and I'm not sure where they could have gone. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!

starlight_kitsune

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Pics of the vials you're using would probably help figure out if they absolutely can't get out of them, because I can't think of any reason one would vanish except an escape. How many have you had just disappear like this?

BoyFromLA

Spoon feeder
Arachnosupporter +
Sometimes a spiderling will disappear out of it's vial
  • How large is the vial?
  • How large is the sling?
They can't get out of the vial
Are you even certain about that?

I'm not sure where they could have gone. Any ideas? Thanks in advance!
If you have no idea, I surely do not have one either.

If you can’t keep track of the sling, something is possibly very wrong. First and foremost, you want to keep track of the sling for: well eating, well drinking, well molting. If not, something has to be changed.

Poonjab

Arachnoking
100% you’re either a) leaving lid off
Or b) ventilation holes/slits too big and T’s escape.
or c) feeders are too big and eating sling.

Brother Giles

Arachnopeon
  • How large is the vial?
  • How large is the sling?

Are you even certain about that?

If you have no idea, I surely do not have one either.

If you can’t keep track of the sling, something is possibly very wrong. First and foremost, you want to keep track of the sling for: well eating, well drinking, well molting. If not, something has to be changed.