Sling "over feeding" question

Niclou69

Arachnopeon
Hi! I'm very new to the hobby and I just got my first T (a C. Cyaneopubescens sling) a few weeks ago, so I hope my question isn't too stupid.

So pretty much, a few days ago I noticed my sling's abdomen had gotten very large, and it was shinier than it had been before. I figured that this was a sign of pre-moult, and got excited. I attempted to feed her a few days after that, just to be sure, and she ate without hesitation. So if she's not in pre-moult, is she just fat? I know that it's not possible to powerfeed tarantulas like it is with snakes, but I have seen people stop feeding an adult for a while when it gets fat.

So my question is should I maybe cut back on the food a bit, or is this completely normal? Not only is the abdomen large, but it's also kind of shiny as well, is this also normal for a spider that's just fat? If she is just fat, should I keep feeding her like normal, or would that be unhealthy? My sling is around 1/2 and I've been feeding her twice a week (the mealworms I feed her are a bit large, which is why I feed twice a week rather than every other day).

The Seraph

Arachnolord
Hi! I'm very new to the hobby and I just got my first T (a C. Cyaneopubescens sling) a few weeks ago, so I hope my question isn't too stupid.

So pretty much, a few days ago I noticed my sling's abdomen had gotten very large, and it was shinier than it had been before. I figured that this was a sign of pre-moult, and got excited. I attempted to feed her a few days after that, just to be sure, and she ate without hesitation. So if she's not in pre-moult, is she just fat? I know that it's not possible to powerfeed tarantulas like it is with snakes, but I have seen people stop feeding an adult for a while when it gets fat.