Sling not eating

Nathan Duke

Arachnopeon
Hi

I'm new to this hobby and wanted to know something, I'm sorry if this is a stupid question but I got a new Tarantula a week ago and it hasn't eaten anything since. Whenever I try to get it to eat it just runs away from the food ( usually a small cricket) and if the food is dead it has no interest. What am I doing wrong? Is it me? The T? The substrate? Btw the substrate was from a company called spiderlife, I got it from a local pet store. I've attached a pic of the T aswell as the substrate. Please help, any advice or suggestions would be amazing.

Attachments

Garth Vader

Arachnobaron
It might not be hungry. The abdomen looks plump. Just offer food and if it refuses after a few hours, take it away. They can really go a while without eating.

It's hard to see your full enclosure but I'll try to tell you some basics- have a water dish (just a dish, no sponge or rocks, keep it simple), provide a hide, and use more substrate. You don't want there to be too much vertical space, your terrestrial tarantula could fall and rupture it's abdomen. There are lots of threads on here about making enclosures so do check them out!

Ellenantula

Arachnoking
Agreed -- just keep offering food weekly. Agreed also your sling's rump doesn't look shriveled or starving or anything.
Climbing indicates some healthiness but also makes me wonder if substrate is much too damp or just slightly damp for your sling. Does he always climb on sides or does he sometimes come down to bottom?
Does your T have a silk leaf, small cork bark or burrow or anything? Is a water bowl provided?
I also can't tell what size your sling is -- large or tiny. What kind of T is it?
A pix of full set-up would help, size of T, etc. I can't tell by pix if it's a large cup or a tiny vial. Is lid ventilated?

A week isn't that long to settle in. I've had slings take food the day they arrived via shipment and ones that took a couple weeks.