Single food source diet question

ssull8400

Arachnopeon
My first post: I am a third grade teacher. We have a female rose hair tarantula as a class pet. Based on the info provided when I bought her, she is about 2-2.5 years old. She has molted once about 1.5 years ago. We also have MHCockroaches (about 400) that we "study" and use as feeders for the tarantula. When I first got her, I varied the diet with medium-sized hissers and crickets from the pet store. For the last 8 months I have only been feeding hissers out of convenience, but I haven't seen her eat in what seems like several months. I am following the guideline that if a hisser is still alive in the tank after 24-48 hours, remove it.

Here are my 3 questions: Do I need to be concerned that she hasn't eaten? I have read some entries that say some can go a year or more without eating, but that seems like quite a long time. Do I need to vary the diet or can she get the nutrients she needs from hissers alone?

Any guidance would be great. I will answer any questions as best I can. Thanks.

Sarkhan42

Arachnoangel
I have to start by saying welcome to arachnoboards! Lovely to hear a tarantula being used as a class pet. To answer your question first, she will be just fine on a low variety diet as long as your roaches are fed well and healthy, their nutrition needs are quite low, many members here actually use roach colonies to sustain their collections. It sounds like you're sticking to nymphs which is good, and I wouldn't worry about the fasting Grammostola porteri/rosea can go months and months on end without eating(with water provided). One final note- she's probably quite a bit older than you were told if she's about adult size, these guys grow crazy slow and can take almost 4 years just to hit maturity.

Don't be afraid to ask as many questions as you've got here, we're all happy to help out :)

Swoop

Arachnosquire