Scorpling feeding Help!

Abu Bakr

Arachnopeon
Hi.
I'm new to this hobby and got my very first invert just 3 days ago. Its a heterometrus laoticus. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong.
It's enclosure is quite big and I've used Coco fiber substrate with 3 inch depth, a 7 watt heating mat that covers almost 1/3rd of the area.I had initially put the mat to the side of enclosure but now I've put it underneath the substrate.

And it was last fed by the previous owner on the day I got it. I just don't know how to get it to feed.

I tried to lure a cricket close to it. It either runs away and doesn't eat it or it just tries to pin down the cricket and it jumps and gets out of its grasp.

I caught a cricket with tweezers and placed it in front of it and the sling pinched it, killed it and ran away again and didn't eat.

I don't wanna leave a cricket inside because the ventilation slits are big enough for them to escape.

What is the best I way to get it to eat? Should I wait for a few days and then feed it? Should I leave it with a cricket in another enclosure or what?

darkness975

Latrodectus
Arachnosupporter +
Hi.
I'm new to this hobby and got my very first invert just 3 days ago. Its a heterometrus laoticus. Please tell me what I'm doing wrong.
It's enclosure is quite big and I've used Coco fiber substrate with 3 inch depth, a 7 watt heating mat that covers almost 1/3rd of the area.I had initially put the mat to the side of enclosure but now I've put it underneath the substrate.

And it was last fed by the previous owner on the day I got it. I just don't know how to get it to feed.

I tried to lure a cricket close to it. It either runs away and doesn't eat it or it just tries to pin down the cricket and it jumps and gets out of its grasp.

I caught a cricket with tweezers and placed it in front of it and the sling pinched it, killed it and ran away again and didn't eat.