Scorpions in Flroida

LenG444

Arachnopeon
Scorpions in Florida

Hi

I'm new to this and I was wondering if I can capture Scorpions in the wild in South Florida? I know of a few species that are wild(C. gracilis)but where would I look for them?

Thanks
Lenny

Last edited:

phoenixxavierre

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Hi,

My guess would be under rocks, boards, woodpiles, leaf litter, etc. Be careful, of course! There are other critters that lurk in those areas with just as bad and worse venom! Maybe someone in southern Florida can give you better hunting tips!

Take care,

Paul

LenG444

Arachnopeon
Thanks phoenixxavierre for the info.

Is there anyone out there familiar of the area of Southern Florida where Scorpions lurk?

Last edited:

Kugellager

ArachnoJester of the Ancient Ones
Arachnosupporter
The species you are most likely to find in S Florida are C.hentzi and C.guanensis though C.gracilis is also present but is more common in the western parts of S Florida and in central and N central parts of the state.

John
];')

Andrew

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Hi, when i was hunting in texas i found that trees with loose bark are good spots and leaf litter is good but use your forceos and take layer off at a time.
Thanks
Andrew
P.S Good luck

Diao

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I was just about to make a topic asking the same thing. I'm in Florida right now as well, I'm located on Pensacola Beach, which is a small island on the panhandle. I haven't had much searching time yet, but I'll try looking under some bark on trees for some scorpions. I'm heading out to Desdin tomorrow morning, what are some speces to keep an eye out for over there?

P.S. I'm sitting in the travel information center, I don't even think I'm supposed to use the internet here. Hehe:cool:

Kugellager

Arachnosupporter
I have heard of scorps found near the AL-FL border. They most likely are C.hentzi but may also be C.vittatus stowaways that have managed to establish themselves there.

John
];')

steve055