1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Scorpion Enclosure sizes

Discussion in 'Scorpions' started by Mixed Dinner, May 17, 2017.

1. Mixed Dinner

Mixed Dinner Arachnopeon

Canada
    Advertisement
    Is there any general rule of thumb on how wide and long a scorpion's enclosure should be? I
    have heard some with tarantulas like that it must be twice as long and wide as the tarantula
    itself. I understand this probably can vary depending on species. I am fairly new to the hobby
    and am looking into buying an Asian forest scorpion.

Thanks,
    Jeremy

2. ArachnoDrew

ArachnoDrew Arachnoprince Active Member

Well depending on the scorpion. Some are tree climbers and will spend 90% of their time on bark so ground space isn't as necessary. For a burrower you want deep substrate. They will spend most of their time underground. Scorpions they become very active when your not looking or asleep and they do like to wander around. I personally house all mine in exo terra breeder boxes small and medium

Hard to find a single enclosure that will house a scorp from young instar to adult hood. These work best for me so far

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 3
  3. RTTB

RTTB Arachnoprince Active Member

The breeder boxes are a good way to go.

4. ArachnoDrew

Their awesome. Some might find them pricey. But if you don't have a crazy large collection. Their the go to. Accept for very tiny species.... I use a small breeder box for my U chubbi. But it's like a mansion for her to roam in

5. pannaking22

pannaking22 Arachnoking Active Member

How tall are the breeder boxes? Just curious since I really like the look of them, but if I'm keeping some of the nastier terrestrial buthids I'd rather not risk them being able to get up to the top.

6. pannaking22