Room For 10

Cashworth

Arachnopeon
Hey! I figured I'd come on here and share my first communal enclosure with all of you. It's a 10 gallon on its end meant to hold 10 P. miranda all about 2". Let me know what you think and I'm very open to tips and suggestions as this is my first attempt at housing tarantulas communally.

Attachments

skar

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Whenever I see a communak especially for 10... I always think- have fun with that transfer later : /
Good luck !

syndicate

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
Hi there,
In my experience keeping Poecilotheria communally it is best to keep them in a smaller container or tank so they are forced to share the same space.For 10 2" miranda I would use maybe a 1 gallon jar with a cork bark tube for them to use as a retreat.The problem with adding so few spiders to such a big tank is that they will all not stick together but instead create there own areas inside this tank and that may cause some problems.I'd recommend keeping them in something smaller until they outgrow that container then move them into a bigger enclosure when needed.
Good luck with them!
-Chris

Cashworth

Arachnopeon
I have heard that before, Syndicate, and that's definitely what I'd be doing if they weren't currently being kept individually. The way I figured it is that they're already use to their own space so maybe less interaction would be better? Let me know if I'm way off. Ha ha. Ideally I'd be starting this with a group that's all from the same sac and has yet to be separated. Maybe if what I'm doing starts going sour I'll separate them and, when they're ready, breed them and use some from the resulting sac and maybe that will work better.

Thanks Jared781! :)

I am not looking forward to transferring them at all. Ha ha. I really hope they give me at least a little time to appreciate what I've built here before they decorate the walls with their poop. :p

Jared781

Arachnobaron