RIP Marshmallow / Post Ultimate Molt? / Preservation?

Chin Crimson

Arachnopeon
Okay well this was not easy for me but i had to accept that he/she would go sometimes...

20180725_164609.jpg

I found it in a location were my neighbours would have killed it , so i decided to give it a new home and boy we were happy together.

Here it is still alive (after the bad molt): 20180720_171517.jpg

I am not very good with the identification so here is the first Question:

Was it S. Tegenaria or S. Eratigena?

It was called Marshmallow because i housed it in a Marshmallow container with a big rock in the middle and it liked it alot.

After the rehouse into a rectangular styled plastic container it was even better.

It molted in a very weird position, when i found it molting the legs were all crooked, 1 pedipalp was stuck and it looked very distressed.

I tried to understand what was going on but i couldn't.

The legs are abnormally long don't you think?

After the molt everything was different. The spider had lost its power, it's will if you want to say. I managed to feed it one time but i saw it striking left and right of the prey too, wich was very sad.

Monday morning i found it dying, it was dead when I returned that very afternoon...

I tried my best and at the same time I feel guilty. Maybe it wouldve been better to let my neighbour crush it with a broomstick or whatever...

Soooo anyways here are the pictures and the Questions:

20180725_164625.jpg 20180725_164738.jpg 20180725_164747.jpg 20180725_164755.jpg

Does anyone know or understand what was going on?

Am I responsible for this? (I will answer every question asked here)

How can I preserve it? (It's currently in my fridge, the non freezing part)

Thanks for reading along, 8-legged cheer from Germany!

//edit;; if the pics are to blurry i will try to make better ones just call me out

Ungoliant

Malleus Aranearum
Staff member
Was it S. Tegenaria or S. Eratigena?