rescue hisser questions

spikevarg

Arachnopeon
So I'm new to keeping insects and really excited. I ended up rescuing a madagascar hissing cockroach and then moving across the country with him, and now that I'm settled I want to look into other creatures (looking into different desert beetles. I'd love a scorpion but my boyfriend and roommate is phobic) and maybe getting him some pals.
The only problem is that he's really, really lethargic (I know hissers are supposed to climb but he doesn't... like to move very much) probably due to the fact that he's missing most of his antennae and the tips of I think three different feet? I don't know if other hissers will eat him (I know he is just an insect but I've had him for about five months now and I've become attached). (I think he's maybe an older roach, definitely an adult, and I'd just like him to be comfortable as long as possible). I've been feeding him different green vegetables, carrots, some crushed cat food, and fruit and I've only ever seen him eat the fruit-- should I be feeding him something different? I want him to be as healthy as possible.

BuzzSwole

Arachnosquire
So I'm new to keeping insects and really excited. I ended up rescuing a madagascar hissing cockroach and then moving across the country with him, and now that I'm settled I want to look into other creatures (looking into different desert beetles. I'd love a scorpion but my boyfriend and roommate is phobic) and maybe getting him some pals.