Red Knee or Red Rump

Duke911

Arachnopeon
Hey guys so I'm new to tarantulas I've kept several mantids before but am looking to get my first tarantula. I was trying to decide between a red knee tarantula or a red rump. I would really like some opinions!!! Thanks

Olan

Arachnoangel
Old Timer
I think Brachypelma vagans would be a better first tarantula, because they will actually grow at a reasonable pace. B. hamorii could test your patience.

mack1855

Arachnoangel
Arachnosupporter +
Well..Welcome to the T universe,and you need to use scientific names here.
Otherwise.....mayhem and confusion.Red Knee,Red Toe.Red Rump, Red Haired,Red Legged
Red Headed...In regards to T,s,it really does matter.

Liquifin

Arachnoking
B. vagans is a bit more skittish than the B. hamorii. But it I prefer B. vagans since they are faster growers and better eaters than the B. hamorii. The B. hamorii is a slower growing species, which can take a while on growth. But the B. hamorii are more calm and less skittish than the B. vagans. Can't really go wrong with either of them. But I still prefer the B. vagans.

cold blood

Staff member
Not sure if it matters to the OP, but vagans is 3-4 times cheaper as well.

Both make good firsts....hamorii is the calmer of the two, vagans can be quite skittish.

weibkreux

Arachnoknight
Go for the B. vagans, as a beginner you would enjoy more if you see your T getting bigger at a more reasonable pace. B vagans is my first T as well.

Vanisher

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Those are good tarantulas! I personally prefers B vagans over B harmorii! But my favourite in the genus is B albopilosum! That may also be an option for you!?

Teal

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
B. vagans are nice little Ts... we have a handful of them at my partner's request and I have grown to like them quite a bit!

Duke911

Arachnopeon