ready to breed??

cichlidsman

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
i know that this is been posted a 100000 times but i am look for some fresh replys. how do i know if my female is ready to mate. i would like to try to breed her. so far i have been only holding and looking at her. but i sometimes has to go away for a few months at a time, and i may have missed the signs if there are any. the same goes for my zebra.

Angelo

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
im not an expert at this but one way that you could possibly tell is if the tarantula has reached its full grown size, and molts once every year to year and a half. ok i dont wanna give you any wrong info so you experts out there back me up!!!....

cichlidsman

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
molting

i have had her for more then a year and half and she never molted yet. this pic should help to see how big she is.

Attachments

da_illest

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
you asked for help and help is here... female t's (not all the time) mature at a much smaller size then we think... i say from experience, trust me... you will see in around a month's time :D

da_illest

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
cichlidsman said:
i have had her for more then a year and half and she never molted yet. this pic should help to see how big she is.
i can't say for sure it's ready but i have a strong feeling you will be able to get a sac from her.. best thing to do is try, or look at a molt for reproductive organs..

Phillip

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
If she hasn't molted in a year and a half chances are she will molt before she can produce a sack. It is usually best to try around three months or so after the female molts so that you have plenty of time before she molts again as well as giving her enough time after molting for the mating attempt to do any good.

Phil

cichlidsman

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
da illest