Questions for Crested Gecko owners

nocturnalpulsem

Arachnolord
Old Timer
So my wife picked this little guy up, and I have no experience with lizards so here I am.

Habitat is fine from all I've read and the info I got from a respectable reptile shop, but this thing is perplexing me with its feeding/handling behavior.

She spends all her time in the "trees" which is not surprising, but I can't really tell if she's eating. Using the Repashy food, tried different food to water mixes since I hear they have preferences. But strangely, while she refuses to be handled, she WILL let me hand feed her. A friend told me not to do that as it will make her dependent on me (not sure if that's true, but it is for other animals). I tried spreading a little Repashy on the leaves of a couple fixtures, to see if she'd come across it and eat. As of this morning, hasn't happened as far as I can tell.

Also haven't seen a single turd anywhere.

So, do these things just eat so little I don't notice? Is she too afraid to leave the tree and not eating unless I feed her by hand?

jecraque

Arachnobaron
They don't eat a lot, for sure. I had this same issue years ago when mine was much smaller; it was really tough to tell whether he ate or not. It didn't help that he'll walk right through the stuff on occasion. I have a rock hide on the bottom that I always feed on. He gets fed in an upturned lid, so he has to both come down to get it and then find it, and he's none too bright--that's why I've tried to feed more or less in the same spot his whole life.