1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

question about breeding

Discussion in 'Tarantula Questions & Discussions' started by Wormtail39, May 13, 2019.

1. Wormtail39

Wormtail39 Arachnosquire Active Member

london
    Advertisement
    So i have a question about breading... i am new to the hobby only have 1 t and its a b. albiceps sling, i got into the hobby through t youtubers like darkden. I see in their videos and people on here that breading is not just for breaders and petshops-- hobyists do it aswell, my question is what do you guys do with all those hundreds of slings? I assume attempt to sell them and such? are u really able to reliably get rid of em all? how big is the chance u could end up stuck with hundreds of slings.

2. The Grym Reaper

The Grym Reaper Arachnotank Arachnosupporter

Wholesale the bulk of them to one of the larger sellers and keep some for themselves, at least that's what I plan on doing if I'm successful with my first project anyway.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Wormtail39

london
    oh fair play what are you planning on breading is it generally good money? is it a starter species u are gonna bread?

4. The Grym Reaper

Caribena versicolor (supposed to be an easy starter project), and I wouldn't think so unless you're breeding lots of expensive species, it's just a quick and easy way to get rid of them.

5. Wormtail39

london
    fair enough well if my sling turns out to be male no point sending him off for a breading loan then haha

6. The Grym Reaper

I just sell my mature males tbh

7. Wormtail39

london
    id probs make a proffit on that? i got the sling for 9 quid so a mature b. albiceps probs go for around 20?

8. jrh3

jrh3 Knights of The Arachno Table Arachnosupporter