1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Providing Water for Slings

Discussion in 'Tarantula Questions & Discussions' started by sshinofield, Feb 11, 2019.

1. sshinofield

sshinofield Arachnopeon

Kansas
    Advertisement
    Hello!
    So, I'm new to keeping tarantulas, and I started with an approx. 3/4" Chromatopelma cyaneopubescens sling. So far things are going well, but I need to run out of state for three days. It's winter here, and the air is pretty dry, so I've been lightly misting the sides of its enclosure each morning, just enough to get droplets on the side for it. However, when I'm gone, I don't really want to bother it by bringing it along, but I don't have any water dishes in the enclosure. So is there a good way to keep it hydrated while I'm gone without making the enclosure too wet?

2. Arachnoclown

Arachnoclown Arachnosquire

I use plastic milk jug caps. Misting is a waste of time...evaporates too fast. 15499456105973219897392989225959.jpg

• Agree Agree x 3
    • Like Like x 2
  3. viper69

viper69 ArachnoGod Old Timer

I have good news for you. GBBs live in extremely xeric climates.

However, certainly provide a water dish. You can use water caps, milk caps, upside down monopoly hotels/houses, tattoo ink holders from Amazon, etc etc

• Agree Agree x 4
    • Like Like x 1
  4. Teal

Teal Arachnoemperor Old Timer

Three days without misting isn't going to kill your sling, but if you can provide a water dish that will give you peace of mind.

• Agree Agree x 4
  5. cold blood

cold blood Moderator Staff Member

3 days? I wouldn't even be misting for a drinking opportunity but once a week anyway. Ts don't drink every day.

• Agree Agree x 1
  6. MissouriArachnophile

MissouriArachnophile Arachnoknight

Had a bunch of plastic spoons just broke the spoon part off to put water in, of course now my slings think their toys.

7. Andrew Clayton