Preparing wood to use in a T's enclosure

6StringSamurai

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Im getting ready for the arrival of an arboreal tarantula. In the past I've used cork bark purchased at a pet shop to give them some climbing space, but my apartment building cut down some trees on the side of the building today and the branches have been chopped and stacked and some of them are PERFECT for a tree dwelling spider.

So, I took two that were just the right size and I boiled two huge pots of water. Once the water was at a good rolling boil I poured it slowly over both the logs, making sure that every single inch had a few seconds under the hot, hot water.

Since I've never done anything like this before, I want to run all that by some experts.

1.) Can I use wood obtained in this manner?

2.) Was my boiling water treatment good enough to kill all the parasites, fungus, mites, molds and God knows what else that could be lurking inside waiting to kill my poor defenseless tarantulas?

3.) What else can I do to make absolutely sure this is safe?

4.) It's not cedar, are there other kinds of wood I should avoid using?

The logs are drying now. The Ts will be slings when they arrive so it will be a while before they need the climbing logs, but it's never too early right?

bonesmama

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
To really sanitize something, you actually have to steam or boil it....I'm not certain of the time, but I think it's like 20 minutes. That should also get the wood hot enough all the way through to kill anything that may be lurking inside.

Natco

Arachnosquire
Old Timer
Arboriculture