Power feeding...

ghosthunter223

Arachnopeon
I hear alot of talk about power feeding a younger T... does this mean feeding it multiple times a week... or just feeding it everyday till i stops eating? is this bad in anyway for the T? just wondering sort of new to the hobby and just had those questions..

thanks Nate

Shell

ArachnoVixen AKA Dream Crusher AKA Heartbreaker
Staff member
Im still new to the hobby also, but my understanding is that power feeding will cause them to grow much faster thus shortening their life. I don't know if it's bad for them other than just causing them to grow quicker though. I may be wrong but that is just my understanding from what I have read on here :)

Tindalos

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
yeah its bad for them
but i do it to my slings until they are almost near an inch.
then i slow down on power feeding but still do it and then after a molt or two completely stop.

when i power feed what i do is every 3-4 days sometimes 5-7 depending on how fat they are
i want them to be fat but not to the point they explode. after they get fat i slow down until a molt and start again for another 1-3 molts.

Just use your judgment if you think its too fat then stop if unsure
stop or give them less or smaller prey etc.

if you power-feed through the T's entire life yeah it will die a lot quicker.
hope this helps

Smitty78

Arachnobaron
Old Timer
Power feeding has it's pros, and cons. The biggest con is that it will reduce the lifespan. If you over feed, it can cause molt issues, and abdomen ruptures become easier. The only time I use power feeding is for breeding purposes to fatten a female up after her molt prior to breeding. I will also power feed a male that I need to mature quickly.

itsMEethenne

Arachnopeon
im a newbie too sir, i just wonder if its alright with the slings to power feed them until they reach to 2-3 inches them stop.. i have a 1cm pulchripes and a 2cm B.Albopilosum right now,

thanks guys.. ;)

Singapore_Blue1

Arachnobaron