P.murinus male ?

†-MarK-†

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Hello people , i need a quick answer ..

This p.murinus was sold to me as female ..
it just molted tonight and i have a bad feeling about the gender .
What do you think ? It's about 4'' now .

miarachnids

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I can't really tell from the pics, but i would say it is most likley a female.
Males usualy mature at 2" to 3". IME.

fartkowski

Arachnoemperor
Old Timer
Does it have hooks?
If it dosn't and is around 4" it is most likely female.
My male matured at about 3"
I am really bad at sexing tho.

†-MarK-†

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
No hooks , but my friend had 2 mature males one was 3,5'' , second one was around 5'' ( it was tcf and i'm not lying i saw him in person, big boy for a P.murinus )

Last edited:

testdasi

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
I'm no expert but I have been doing some sexing research/practice so I'll tell you what I think and you can make up your own idea.

1. From the last picture, I see no spermathecae. Another molt pic will help. Check the skin, do you find a flap between the anterior book lungs?

2. EF sexing: I see something that kinda look like EF BUT the belly curvature is very female-like. Yet, the book lung distance is pretty close and that points MALE. And OBT is one of those bright belly case which makes it very hard to sex using the EF method. Your pic need a bit more focus in the EF area to see properly. Even if with the focus, it will be hard to see so I'll stick more to my number 1 prediction.

3. From the first pic, it is not leggy. But again, leggy/not leggy is very subjective.

So ya, I DO think it is a male.

†-MarK-†

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I'm afraid this is the best i can do for now , i'm getting a new camera tomorrow with a better macro , so i will try to take some new shots tomorrow , but i'm pretty sure now that is a male .

Last edited:

samsbugs

Arachnoknight
Old Timer