1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

P. metallica sling care (feeding)

Discussion in 'Tarantula Questions & Discussions' started by Arjay Alba, Apr 15, 2018.

1. Arjay Alba

Arjay Alba Arachnopeon

Advertisement
    Hello!

I am new in trantula keeping and just got my first tarantula, a 3in mexican fireleg (no problem with her) about 3 weeks ago and my 2nd one just arrived 2 days ago, a P. metallica sling.

I tried to feed my sling a "baby" lats and it was weak when I put in the enclosure because I slightly crashed the lats with the tongs. My Pmet just ignored that lats. This morning I put again another lats she (hoping) again ignore it. Should I tong feed her? Should I take away the dead lats? I read they will eat killed insects to grow faster I worry about her. She is 1.5cm only.

Thanks!

Last edited: Apr 15, 2018
    • Optimistic Optimistic x 1
    • Face Palm Face Palm x 1
  2. crystalfreakkk

crystalfreakkk Arachnopeon Active Member

If she is a sling then it's possible that she is in premolt. They molt quite frequently when they're younger then less so as they age. From what I understand the P. Metallica is quite a fast grower so she might not eat much at all that small. What is a lats?

3. Arjay Alba

Arjay Alba Arachnopeon

Thanks. We call Turkestan cockroaches lats here in our country.

• Funny Funny x 1
  4. crystalfreakkk

crystalfreakkk Arachnopeon Active Member

If you only got the sling two days ago I would let it breathe for a second, get comfortable in it's new environment and try to feed it after a week or so. I just bought three slings and only one of them has eaten and two have molted since I got them and that was like two weeks ago. Just give it time, try to feed it about once a week and make sure it has water.

• Like Like x 1
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. Greasylake

Greasylake Arachnoknight Active Member

Texas