P. irminia Male Got Smoked

MrFuzzBugz

Arachnopeon
Arachnosupporter
I am new to breeding, and this was my second attempt at pairing two tarantulas.

I paired my irminias the other day, introducing the MM to the female’s enclosure, and what initially seemed like a friendly and receptive female ended in her consuming the male, just as soon as he touched her epigastric furrow. I’m not sure if he penetrated or not, it happened so quick and it seemed like an automatic reflex. In anyone else's experience, is there a chance that this could be successful?

I do have a video from the encounter, but it is graphic and I really feel horrible about it. I will reluctantly share it if anyone wants to see… :anxious:

Arachnophobphile

Arachnoangel
Probably not the best choice of T's to try and pair when you first start doing it.

Chop sticks or a wooden ruler is recommended to halt the female's advance from chomping the male. There's multiple methods to halt the female from munching the male.

Is it possible he made insertion, maybe, only time will tell.

Last edited:

fcat

Arachnobaron
Arachnosupporter
I don't have experience with this species, but the ones I have researched have all been new worlds. You can't always get a good line of sight on what the male is doing but he should be under there fishing around, punching, or somewhere in between. Once she goes completely relaxed, it's suggestive of insertion. If it was a good match, this is when you can expect the female to "wake up" and that's when she might start looking to secure her next meal.

You can find a lot of useful information here, and I want to say @l4nsky has posted a video before of a rapid insertion (old world) where the male flew in and away, no Netflix no chill, and it was successful. I guess I can't even say I've seen it... it was that fast. So you could have a chance... You'll know somewhere between the first and second sac 🤣🤣🤣🤣