Noob questions about ideal enclosures?

LunarBeats

Arachnopeon
I have some experience with tarantulas, and have been considering getting a scorpion, most likely one of the Heterometrus. My biggest concern is about enclosure size. I am not able to support a tank larger than a five gallon, and thats really pushing it. I'd prefer an enclosure like the size of a 2.5 gallon, a large critter keeper, or a (14 qt?) Plastic Sweater box like I keep my tarantulas. Would such containers be adequate for a single scorpion from the genus I mentioned? I'd still provide adequate substrate, one side of the enclosure heated, etc.

Jason Brantley

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Hi Lunar, clear plastic storage containers work good. A heat pad "might" be too hot for the plastic. You may have to suspend the container with rubber feet or use a low wattage heater (like a 5 watt, but that isn't going to heat anything anyway). Are all of the tarantulas taking up your real estate?

LunarBeats

Arachnopeon
Do you mean keep the enclosure elevated somehow and then slide a heat pad under so its not touching it? Also, my reasons for having to go super conservative on my enclosures is kind of a long story, but Im basically only allowed to keep pets if I can keep them as inconspicuous as possible.

Jason Brantley

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
Yeah, so if you decided to use a heat pad, put rubber feet on the bottom of the tank so it's raised up, then stick the heat pad under the tank so the bottom of the heat pad has air circulation. The top of the heater (the side that's touching the tank) is heating the substrate, and the bottom of the heat pad (the side that isn't touching anything, closest to the table top) is exposed to the air so it doesn't overheat. Then again, you might not have to do this.

Mila

Arachnoknight