Newb Question: tolerable height and how to measure airflow?

hermit

Arachnosquire
Hey guys,

I've kept reps for about 8 years and so I'm not a total fool when it comes to setting up terrariums and dealing with maintaining heat and humidity levels as per the species. I'm brand new to arachnids, however, and have recently purchased a female B. smithi from a member of my regional reptile/arach forum. I already own the Tarantula Keeper's Guide and have studied it prior to acquiring my specimen and already had what I believed to be quite a good enclosure set up for her before she arrived. I have a 12" cubed exo-terra tank, the front-opening style. It has about 2-3" of substrate on the floor (coco-earth with a small amount of vermiculate mixed in because the top of the tank is all screen and maintaining any reasonable humidity is tough in my place otherwise.

My first concern is that within minutes of being introduced to the new tank, she began climbing up the walls to the screen top and poking around at all the edges. A few times, she seemed to lose footing on the screen and nearly looked to be falling down. This would be a drop of 9-10" if it happened. I know that Ts are very delicate to falls but I haven't really found a guideline as to what sort of distance is an allowable risk for your spider to be able to climb. Or is this terrarium size adequate and low enough that a fall would not be significant?