New to the insect hobby

Beki

Arachnopeon
Hi, there! I'm Beki and I just got my first bug pets- two blue death feigning beetles- about a month ago.
I love how easy they are to care for, and I was just hoping to meet some other beetle lovers out there!
Anyway, has anybody kept them in hermit crab sand? It's a bit overly dusty, but it has added calcium and they seem to like it.

davehuth

Arachnoknight
Welcome Beki, I'm also new to keeping desert beetles and have a large multi-species enclosure. I mixed clean play sand and tiny pebbles, with a few dried shredded leaves mixed in and scattered around. I also give lots of supplemental foods (including dog kibble) so I'm hoping that's nutritionally complete for them. I do know they hate getting fine mud or dirt caked on their feet which is one reason I use a courser substrate. These boards are a treasure trove of information, good luck and update your progress and discoveries here.

Beki

Arachnopeon
Welcome Beki, I'm also new to keeping desert beetles and have a large multi-species enclosure. I mixed clean play sand and tiny pebbles, with a few dried shredded leaves mixed in and scattered around. I also give lots of supplemental foods (including dog kibble) so I'm hoping that's nutritionally complete for them. I do know they hate getting fine mud or dirt caked on their feet which is one reason I use a courser substrate. These boards are a treasure trove of information, good luck and update your progress and discoveries here.
Thanks! It doesn't seem to be caking on their feet, because I'm in a very dry environment, but the fine dust does seem to make them a bit lighter in color. I had them on some pebbles, but it seemed to stress them out that they couldn't dig in them. They were always scratching at them, and they seem to enjoy digging a bit in the sand. I've been feeding them carrots, apples, cheerios, and dried shrimp. They love the shrimp.

Beki

Arachnopeon
I have heard that added calcium sand is bad for inverts.