new to the hobby

Seamus Gillespie

Arachnopeon
Hi Guys, i am probably going to be slammed for this but i kinda went nuts, never kept Tarantulas before but keep lizards, scorpions, dart frogs and tree frogs.. so i was at an expo recently and now have 14 slings between red rumps, fire legs, red legs, red knees and chilean rose.. i have them nicely set up in small litre containers with mosses, shelters and sling water dishes on peat and cocofibre substrate. have them all 3 weeks now and was wondering on the best foods for them, they eat the fruit flys i have for my frogs but seem to run from hatchling crickets.. is there any other foods you'd reccommend.. and i know going for bigger tarantulas would have been easier for a complete novice but i want to watch them grow on by my hand.. hopefully i will eventually breed them but thats a long way off yet.. all advice would be greatly appreciated

Ungoliant

Malleus Aranearum
Staff member
they eat the fruit flys i have for my frogs but seem to run from hatchling crickets.. is there any other foods you'd reccommend..
Don't bother with fruit flies. They are a hassle, and they don't have much meat on them.

Slings will scavenge on freshly killed prey. If your tarantulas are scared of live crickets, try giving them pre-killed crickets (or pieces of crickets, such as cricket drumsticks). Tiny feeder roaches (or pieces of a larger roach) will also work.

I feed my slings baby mealworms. If you only have larger mealworms, you can cut them up and leave a piece for each sling. When feeding mealworms, always crush the head to prevent the mealworm from biting your tarantula or burrowing.

You may not see the sling eat a pre-killed item right away, but leave it where the sling will find it, and it will feed. (If the prey item has been moved, the sling likely fed on it and dragged the rest away.)

Remove any uneaten prey the next day.

If you haven't already seen these, Tom Moran posted a comprehensive guide on raising slings: