1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to Tarantulas!

Discussion in 'Tarantula Chat' started by Daniel266jz, Oct 26, 2017.

1. Advertisement
    Hello, I am new in the Tarantula hobby and have been wanting one for quite some time. I plan to buy a Brachypelma Boehmei. I as most possibly going to have a sling and I was wondering if a 5gal glass enclosure with a lockable top and padlock would be okay? Sling would be around 1". Also would you recommend sphagnum moss with coco fiber mix? Water cup or occasional spray down of substrate? I will also include cork bark and a coconut halve for hides. Do they spin webs a lot or not as much as i heard GBB like to make web but i was steered away from OLD WORLD spider since I am a beginner? Thank you!:jimlad:

2. Nightshady

Nightshady Arachnopeon Active Member

Haha, I just got my first sling a week or two ago and am clearly not an expert, but I can tell you what the experts will say.

Don't put a sling in an adult cage. I did the exact same thing because I didn't know any better. You can get a sling cage for like $10-$15. Here's where I got mine:

https://jamiestarantulas.com/terrestrial-spiderling-enclosure-kit/

Good luck! I'm only a couple weeks in myself and loving it.

• Agree Agree x 2
  3. Thank you! I just might order this now!

4. cold blood

cold blood ArachnoGod Active Member

I'm guessing most of your research wasn't done in the right places...which is normal, as its hard to find proper info on ts...pet stores are brutal, care sheets are beyond useless and you tube is a comedy of what not to do....unfortunately these are the most common (and easiest) places to attempt to learn from. Literally forget all of it, start over here, where you get info from actual keepers, keeping the actual kinds of spiders you own.