1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

New to scorpions. Identifying species and health issues

Discussion in 'Scorpions' started by Nick White, Dec 5, 2018.

1. Nick White

Nick White Arachnopeon

Advertisement
    Hey guys, I'm new to keeping scorpions and just ordered a few from a guy I met at a local show. I was wondering if anyone could guess and instar and if the species/subspecies is correct. Also if they look to be in good health as it was very cold when they came in and one was on his back and unresponsive for a few minutes.

2. Nick White

Nick White Arachnopeon

3. Nick White

Nick White Arachnopeon

This guy was thrown in as a freebie and hes huge! He also ate a large cricket as soon as i housed him. But I'm concerned about the black spot on his knee, is that mycosis? Also is this an LQ?

4. NYAN

NYAN Arachnoprince Active Member

CA
    It looks like a Leiurus sp. to me.

• Agree Agree x 1
  5. Nick White

Nick White Arachnopeon

Yea the guy said deathstalker so I figured LQ but i thought they the dark last segment on the metasoma. And the leg has a dark spot but he is moving it just fine. The scorpion i actually paid for a was a Androctonus australis and it came in upside down and i thought it was dead but it twitched when i went to pick it up so i put the container on a heat pack and under a light and it flipped over after a minute and started moving around.

• Like Like x 1
  6. RTTB

RTTB Arachnoprince Active Member

Be careful. Potentially deadly scorpions you got for beginner species.

• Agree Agree x 1
  7. Nick White

Nick White Arachnopeon

well I have a Hadrurus arizonensis for the last 6 months lol. But worry not these are my first scorpions but not my first HOTS.

8. Nick White

Nick White Arachnopeon

Im more worried about the spot on his leg. if it is mycosis is there any antifungal treatments that work on scorpions to stave the progress?

9. NYAN