new to keeping snakes - questions

stu

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
well, Im looking into adding a snake to my collection - Ive been keeping a variety of lizards for many years now.

Any recomendations for a good first snake anyone?

Plus any links to caresheets for snakes would be appreciated.

Been looking into ball pythons but heard conflicting advice on them, some say a good starter snake others say not?

any help would be welcome,

cheers,

Stu

Ravnos

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
I think its largely personal preference. There are so many choices out there. Corn snakes, king snakes, milk snakes and some species of rat snakes all make pretty decent starters if you do your research. I myself started out with a ball python and don't regret it one bit. She has always been my best feeder, and is still my favorite snake out of a collection of 60, including native and exotic species. If you do go with ball python though, make sure you get a healthy, captive born one. Most of the ones available in pet stores are farm raised, and are not in the best of shape. Dunno though, if you're familiar with keeping lizards alive, I'm sure you'll find a ball python, or most 'beginner' snakes a breeze.

Rav

stu

Arachnoknight
Old Timer
cheers for the replies :)

Yeah I read about the feeding probs with some ball pythons - from what ive heard though the captive bred ones seem to have little or no probs with this right?

well - i guess i'll do some research tonight and see what new reptile will be the best for me:)

cheers again,

Stu

BigSam

Arachnoprince
Old Timer
Ball Python