New tarantula keeper

scott womersley

Arachnopeon
Hi folks, i'm totally new to this and always wanted to keep a tarantula, got a juvenile b smithi around 3 weeks ago, he's about 2" and he has been feeding fine although not crawling about much, mostly hiding out under the bark i put in, this week he has starded burrowing but he has completely closed his burrow off, see attached photo, does anyone think he is ready to moult? I'm going to still try to feed him but if he doesn't eat i'll remove the cricket but as far as i can see he is totally enclosed , any advice appreciated

Attachments

Liquifin

Arachnoking
It's either premolt or fasting. So sealing itself in is nothing to worry about, it is actually pretty normal for them to do that. I wouldn't try to offer it anything if it sealed itself off. If it's hungry, it will come out and look for food. So I would wait and not worry about it sealing itself off. It is normal for T.'s to go for months without eating. ;)

scott womersley

Arachnopeon
Excellent thanks for the advice, i just put a cricket in not long ago but i'll take it out again, as i said i'm new to this and i've read quite a bit up on them but i've never seen anything on this, i'll try not to panic too much if he doesn't eat for a while....cheers

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Just make sure you keep fresh water available in the dish, even when he is not eating.

Whenever one of my tarantulas seals itself up in its hide or burrow, I stop feeding until it emerges on its own. That way, you don't have to worry about the feeder burrowing also - and possibly nibbling on your spider when it is vulerable during or immediately after a molt. While removing the uneaten cricket is a good idea in theory, it's hard to actually do it if you can't find the feeder - and if your spider is preparing to molt, you don't want to go tearing his burrow apart looking for the darn thing.

mack1855

Arachnoangel
Arachnosupporter +