New T owner, what can I do to make my T more comfy?

3go

Arachnopeon
Hello! I'm brand new and I found this board while researching Ts, but didn't decide to make an account until I got one myself. Today I bought my own A. seemanni! I'm completely new to owning a T and was wondering if there was any advice anyone would like to give to make my T as comfy as possible. Pictures down below! The enclosure might be too big, but I got it at a cheap price. My room temp is below 60 right now so I put the tank near a space heater on the floor (the black box behind the tank). Since getting it, the T has been "scrunched up" in the front and was wondering if this was normal or because of the cold. I also tapped it on the leg and the abdomen with some tweezers and it didn't seem to mind at all, which was different from what I've heard A. seemannis were prone to doing. Is it just tired? Thanks for any advice in advance!

nicodimus22

Arachnomancer
Arachnosupporter
I wouldn't keep it below 65F for an extended period of time if you can help it. Don't even bother chasing humidity numbers. Those hygrometers are usually not very accurate anyway.

New Ts usually curl up on the side for a while, totally normal.

You need more substrate. 1.5 X DLS should be the maximum distance your tarantula could fall. So if you have a 4 inch T, the distance from the top to the substrate shouldn't exceed 6 inches.

I can't see, but if you're using a screen lid, that needs to be replaced (with acrylic or some other solid material that has air holes in it.) Ts can catch their claws in the screen and get stuck, amputate their legs to get free, take a fall, etc.

mantisfan101

Arachnoprince
Recipe for a happy Aphonopelma seemani-
4”-5”+ of damp substrate for them to burrow in
Less height to prevent the T from falling
5 gal. enclosure or maybe smaller depending on the tarantula’s size
And finally the most important ingredient for all new tarantulas-
Peace and minimal disturbance

3go

Arachnopeon