new Rose hair Tarantula

Magic Coco

Arachnopeon
I just bought a rose hair tarantula. I've been collecting scorpions for a long time now as a hobby, but this is my first tarantula. I drove an hour to New Hampshire today because I was bored and wanted to go to my favorite pet store in Seabrook to get a new scorpion as my buthacus died recently. They only had 1 scorpion in stock and it was mislabeled as a Red Claw Emperor for $39.99. I'm not sure what species it was exactly, but it definitely wasn't a Red Claw Emperor, and certainly not worth 40 bucks, so in a weak moment I bought a rose hair tarantula for $19.99. As stated, I am a total newbie to tarantulas, but I've been told rose hair is the best way to go for beginners

Amimia

Arachnosquire
Indeed they are good beginners :) a G. rosea (rose hair scientific name) was my first T. I did all kinds of moronic things with her: flooded her enclosure, dropped her on her back, put my bare hand in her enclosure, poked her abdomen, overfed her. Anyway, I learned a lot from her, she's been great

NewAgePrimal

Arachnosquire
There is a sticky thread at the top of the Tarantula Questions and Discussions subforum that will tell you everything you need to know about your new G. rosea/porteri. Dry substrate that is deep enough to keep the T from falling and injuring itself. Provide a water dish and a hide. Do not worry if it does not eat for extended periods of time, they are known to fast. They are also known to be moody, so if it seems docile one day don't be surprised if it throws a threat posture the next. Every tarantula has its' own individual personality. Congratulations on your new friend and welcome to the addiction.

Last edited:

cold blood

Staff member