New person here who'd like a little help

SqueakMaan

Arachnopeon
Hi, I'm brand new to both the boards and the hobby. I recently found myself the caretaker of a Dolomedes tenebrosus. I've been looking around the Boards and I've found them to be both informative and interesting as well as entertaining. However, I would like to find out more about this spider and how to care for it. If anybody has any helpful tips or info I would be appreciative.

cacoseraph

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
keep open water in it's cage! (like a water dish, but a good size one... and make sure there is a little stone or something in the dish so any prey items can climb out)

welcome to hobby & board... both are amazing :)

SqueakMaan

Arachnopeon
Thanks. I have a pretty good size water dish in there. I've noticed he spends more time on a peice of cork bark i have in there than around the water.

cacoseraph

ArachnoGod
Old Timer
1) heh, i just watched the japanime with Dark Snyder in it

2) good, the fact it's not hovering on it's water dish is *probably* a good indicator that the RH is acceptable to it :)

SqueakMaan

Arachnopeon
Yeah, funny Anime. I hate to keep bothering people with questions but what does RH mean?

Wade

Arachnoking
Old Timer
I encounter D. tenebrosus just as often away from water as near it. Some other Dolemedes (like D. triton) seem to do best in a semi-aquatic set up, but D. tenebrosus seems to do just as well in a setup simmilar to what you'd use for a small arboreal tarantula. I currently keep them in gallon jars with slabs of cork and a 4-oz condiment cup as a water dish.

RH = Relative Humidity

Wade

orcrist

Arachnosquire
Old Timer