Nematode+Bacterial infection

Kazaam

Arachnobaron
So my X. immanis appears to have...a wet carapace and moldy eyes, there also seems to be movement between the fangs.
I'm guessing nematodes, but I like to hear others opinion about it before I take action ( I always second guess myself)

There's a bit of a hurry though, as it seems in a rather bad shape.

Pictures:

---------- Post added 09-30-2013 at 03:04 PM ----------

I have moved it to an ICU while I wait for replies.

Last edited:

Thistles

Arachnobroad
Old Timer
Nematodes usually cause a sort of weird paralysis of the first pair of legs and the pedipalps, if I'm not mistaken. The wet look makes me lean more toward a possible bacterial infection, though I'm far from an expert. I think the TKG had some suggestions about how to treat it, but I loaned my copy to a friend so I can't look it up for you. Fortunately I've never had this issue.

Kazaam

Arachnobaron
Bacterial infections don't move as far as I know.

It could be both though, I will be getting medicine for minor cuts and apply it with a cotton ball tomorrow, I've used my own treatment for the nematodes and it seems to work as the movement has stopped.

The spider will remain in the ICU.

Last edited:

Antivenom

Arachnopeon
Like Thistles said, the wet look usually means a bacterial infection. Not sure about the movement though. Here is the section of The Tarantula Keepers Guide that talks about it.