Need solifugid embryos for evolutionary devolopmental research

moosepuggle

Arachnopeon
Hello,

I am a post-doctoral researcher in molecular biology at UC Berkeley. I'm interested in determining the origins and relationships of things that stick out of arthropod bodies, like insect wings, insect abdominal gills, and Solifugid malleoli. I'd like to do some gene expression analyses in Solpugid embryos, especially to figure out what those weird malleoli are, and how they evolved.

I was wondering if anyone knows where I could find Solpugid embryos? From reading some of these forums, mated females appear to retain sperm for multiple clutches, so perhaps I could try to catch females soon after the breeding season? It sounds like the females lay in late summer, and the embryos take about 2 months to hatch? Does anyone know approximately how big the embryos are (bigger or smaller than an uncooked grain of rice)?

Any help would be much appreciated! If I manage to get some embryos, and my gene expression experiments work, I can post whatever publication I get out of it here if anyone is interested :)

Thank you so much!
Dr. Moosepuggle

schmiggle

Arachnoking
Some people have bred solifugae in captivity, so depending on how much work you want to put in you might try that. Be aware that it's quite difficult if you decide to go down that route (you need a large court for the pair to run around in is an aspect I remember).
When you ask how large the embryos are, at what stage are you talking about? I think first-instar larvae are slightly larger than a grain of rice, for example.

moosepuggle

Arachnopeon
Hi Schmiggle,

Thank you so much for your response!

Provided I find a clutch of embryos at the right stage, I'll only need one clutch, since they apparently lay 50-200 embryos? So, I'm hoping I don't really need to have a breeding set up. That said, it also appears to be difficult to get embryos to hatch, too.