Need info on hatching a pinktoe egg sak

Effie

Arachnopeon
Hi, I'm new to the world of arachnids and I'm looking for some information and or advice. So the female pinktoe tarantula that I had adopted came to me pregnant apparently. I've tried to do research and ask the owners of the reptile store for information on this but got very little. It was around the 28th of September the sack was laid I have since removed it placed it in a separate container in her terrarium where it has been for about three weeks. I've seen on the internet people that then open the sack at around a month and put the babies in an incubator. I'm not sure if this is the right thing to do and I can find a little information on any of this. Please any info or advice on what time to open the sak. What to do with the spiders how to make sure they don't eat each other, what to put them in, what to feed them ect all that would be greatly appreciated thank you Effie

Venom1080

Arachnoemperor
Tarantulas sometimes make phantom sacs. It's likely nothing.

If it is legit, it's probably wasted now. You have to rotate the sac by hand often if you pull it right away.

MetalMan2004

Arachnodemon
I’d open the sac to see whats in it. If it is indeed viable then yes you’ll need to wuickly make an incubator.

It is probably a phantom sac though, and even if it was fertilized its probably no good as they require constant turning multiple times a day.

cold blood

Staff member
the female pinktoe tarantula that I had adopted came to me pregnant apparently
It would be gravid, not pregnant. Pregnant is when a fertilized egg is growing...gravid means there are eggs, but are not fertilized, as a t does that as the eggs are dropped.

It was around the 28th of September the sack was laid I have since removed it placed it in a separate container in her terrarium where it has been for about three weeks
If you have taken the sac and just had it sitting there for 3 weeks, its almost certainly been destroyed.