Need help with my sling! (New owner)

dinodude

Arachnopeon
Hello guys, I just got my very first tarantula sling (Brachypelma Emilia) and I'm pretty much terrified about caring for such a small creature. I have some experience with exotic animals but its the first time I own a tarantula.

I got my sling 6 days ago, and it hasn't eaten since then. Its fairly small (almost 1cm) and it runs away from alive dubia roaches (same size) and Im not sure if it is eating the prekilled roaches. I always remove the roach the day after. Also it is kinda cold in Greece right now since its February and my house sits at around 16-17 degrees Celsius during the day, but I use a really weak heat mat a few centimeters away from the enclosure to keep the temps at around 20-22 degrees at day and I have aircondition on at night to keep temps at around the same temp.

My sling keeps climbing to the side of the enclosure that the heat mat sits and refuses to climb down. It only burrowed once when I had it in a much larger enclosure the first day it arrived. But since then I moved it in a small enclosure since everyone told me that they need small enclosures when they are slings. I keep one side a little wet to prevent it from dehydrating but I dont know if its normal behavior for it to not get on the ground!

Is it stressed? Why doesn't it eat? Is it way too cold for it? I don't want to make any fatal mistakes so if anyone can give me some advice I would be really thankful!

Andrew Clayton

Arachnobaron
How big is the enclosure You have it in? At that size a 2oz deli cup is fine keep it on dry substrate and just wet one part of the substrate. I feed my tiny slings mealworm with the head crushed and leave it overnight, keep in mind as it is a tiny sling they will moult more often so it could jst be premoult and that's why it's not eating. Post some pictures of the setup and I'm sure you will have plenty of people willing to help and welcome to the hobby

Vanisher

Arachnoking
Old Timer