Need help with A. Avic. & I'm new

Cadence

Arachnopeon
I'm very new to this hobby and I felt I had done alot of research but I have a few questions. I bought a Pink toe (avicularia avicularia) and I read that they are arboreal and like to climb, but mine seems to not move. She has a hard time climbing on glass as well. I've also noticed she hasnt eaten anything but 1 cricket and I've had her for two weeks now. She's about 2 inches so I think that she is a juvenile. Also, I thought i could handle her alot in the beginning, so i did and she moved alot then, but as i read more into it i don't think I'm supposed to. If anyone has any tips or any answers as to why she hardly moves I would love to know!!

boina

Lady of the mites
That's a hard question to answer without knowing how you keep her and how she looks... How about some pics? Spider and enclosure would be nice.

chanda

Arachnoking
Old Timer
Hard to say, but one possiblity is that she might be preparing to molt. Avics (and other arboreals) do lose their ability to climb glass as they approach molt, and it is also typical of tarantulas to lose their appetites for days, weeks - or even months - preceding a molt.

Another thing to keep in mind is that tarantulas are not terribly active pets. They have a very slow metabolism and will frequently just sit there like pet rocks (or pet holes, for burrowing species!) It is not at all uncommon for me to see one of my tarantulas in pretty much the exact same spot for days on end. They have their preferred places to "hang out" so even when they do move around, they will return to those spots where they are comfortable.

Yes, I'm quite sure your spider was a lot more active when you were handling her a lot - this is because you are a large potential predator and she was scared. She was trying to get away from you. If she is calmer now, that is more likely a sign that she is more comfortable and less stressed.

Cadence

Arachnopeon