Need help! Not growing have bumps

jmantaco101

Arachnopeon
I have had two Heterometrus swammerdami for 8 months – got them very small (still small). They have not really grown or molted yet. They are also covered in all these white bumps is that normal?

Attachments

Arachnophoric

Arachnoangel
I'm no expert on scorps, and I only have two P. imperators, but those white "bumps" don't look normal? If I'm understanding what you're referring to, it looks like whatever it is, is all over the enclosure... Like some kind of infestation?

Arachnophoric

Arachnoangel
I think it might be mites?
Are they moving around? If so, I think you may be right. But that'd be one crazy infestation of them, I've never seen them en mass like that. And I'd be concerned with how they're blanketing your scorps. How long have they been like this?

Scorpionluva

Arachnoangel
It definitely looks like mites to me and as said before that is quite the infestation if so. Possibly get some closer pics to confirm
If they are in fact mites - you'll want to throw that substrate away and possibly bake your next batch of substrate before putting it in their tank. As far as getting the mites off the scorpions - a damp Q-tip can help get a bunch of but id suggest doing that while they're in a temporary enclosure and not after the tank is filled again with new substrate or you'll have the same nightmare allover again

Xaratos

Arachnopeon
Personally it looks like sand stuck to them while they were wet and then it dried to their exo, I'm sure if OP saw these spots moving he would immediately assume mites and ask the question differently, the way its sticking and clumping to the glass/plastic very much looks like sand to me also, like there was a thick layer of it before it was mixed up. It might piss them off but you could spray directly on top of them and see if any of it comes off.

jmantaco101

Arachnopeon